Worldwide Rock Tumbling Contest

Tumbling Application:
Click HERE to access the tumbling application in PDF form. 

The response to this year’s contest has exceeded our expectations.
We have run out of China Hollow rock from Oregon.
At this time we cannot accept any further tumbling contest applications.

Thank you!

Contest Entry Fee is $39.
You may have an old entry form – please make sure to use the current form linked above and include payment of $39.

Thank you!

Tumbling Contest Rules:

The rock for 2024 is China Hollow Jasper/Agate from Oregon. Entry fee is $39 for 3 pounds of rough rock for continental US residents. This includes shipping the material to you. Outside the USA will be $39 plus any additional shipping.

  • Three pounds of rough rock will be shipped to you when the application and payment is received beginning January 1, 2024.
  • Deadline for application is June 1, 2024.
  • Mail 5 (yes only 5) of your best finished rocks and a copy of the entry form postmarked no later than August 15, 2024.
  • Apply early in the year to have plenty of time to tumble. Take your time tumbling!
  • Cash prizes = $250, $100, and $50 for first, second, and third place winners!

To enter the contest:

  • Digitally: Download and fill out the application linked above and email the completed form to (save completed document to your computer or print to pdf). Mail your payment to the address below.
  • Hard Copy: Download, fill out, and print the application. Mail the application in with your payment to the address below.
  • Payment by Mail is required!
    Please make check or money orders payable to “FRLMS” and mail to: Tumbling Contest, c/o Lori Millard, 2660 Cherokee Road, Oroville, CA 95965

For more information, call Lori at (530) 533-2968 or email

Results will be posted on Facebook and here after the show in mid-September.

To all contestants:  Only the stones in your purchased box may be used.  It is not okay to buy several boxes to increase your chances of winning.

If you have any questions about this contest, please email me, Lori Millard, at  lorimillard58 (at)
Some info floating around on facebook is absolutely false.


2023 Worldwide Tumbling Contest Results!

Update: September 4, 2023

  • 1st place winner: Steven Smith, Orchard Park, NY
  • 2nd place winner: Jacob Ramsay of Lehi, UT
  • 3rd place winner: Cody Hefty of Madison, WI

The Feather River Lapidary & Mineral Society, Inc. would like to congratulate the top 3 winners of our tumbling contest. We had 4 awesome judges: John, Dawn, Shawna and Daniel. It took them 5 long hours. This was the closest scoring contest we’ve ever had, hands down. That tells you all just how much time and effort you all put in to this year’s contest. We have an awesome rock for the 2024 contest: China Hollow from Oregon. You are going to be amazed with this rock. Thanks for participating and keep an eye on our website for the application and rules to be posted coming soon.


Following are the points scored for the returned stone for the World Wide Tumbling Contest, 2023
Contestants that returned stones scored as follows, by score, in no particular order:

100 points: Steven Smith, Orchard Park NY

99 points: Jacob Ramsay, Lehi UT

98 points: Cody Hefty, Madison WI

97 points: David Cooper, Sacramento CA; Stefan Wawrzynski, Holland NY; Karen Sawyer, Lake Havasu City AZ; Matt Johnson, Hitchcock TX; Sam Cook, Alpena MI; Earl Arnoldson, Salt Lake City UT; Andrew Adair, Johnston IA; Stephen King, Burton MI

95 points: Brent Wandel, Everett WA; Holly Elliott, Green River WY; Matt Nichols, Ida MI

94 points: Jenna Bolton, Cumming GA; Patrick Regan, Farmington NY; Dave Benzschawel, La Crescent MN; Charlie Tower, Casper Wy; Grace Haskin, Hyattsville MD; William Fike, Hanover PA

93 points: Zachary Belknap, Longmont CO; Randy Gault, Woodhaven MI; Jeff Duebler, Tomah WI; Suzann Smith, Clinton MO

92 points: Chris Thomas, Jenkintown PA; Sharon Wallahee, Wapato WA; Geoffrey Niswander and Sally Good, Hillsboro NH; Harinarayan Paramahamson, Cupertino CA; Jeffrey Cleary, Los Angeles CA; Angelee Luther, S. Salt Lake City UT; James A Van Zee, Pella IO.

91 points: Necole Olmstead, Camdenton MO; Chris House, Borger TX; Bob Blouin, O’Fallon MO; Andrea Sarlitto, Valdosta GA

90 points: Shawna Bacheller, Parma ID; Jill Stewart, Eagle ID; Alissa Cheek, St Charles MO; Tony Macejko, Avon OH; Barry Petroske, Breinigsville PA; April Henson, Victorville CA; Denise Mackenzie, Lexington MI

89 points: Vicki Blakslee, Port Angeles WA

88 points: Tiffany Yonts, Aurora CO

87 points: Zachary Carter, Onalaska WA

86 points: Aimee Starks, Coeur d Alene ID; Jamie Forbes, Eldon MO; Mike Bosold, Olympia WA

85 points: Dana Hansen, Ferndale WA

83 points: Juliana Wright, Grand Haven MI

82 points: Sonja Smith, Marietta GA

81 points: Douglas Shank, Tumwater WA

80 points: Adam Richmond, Ingleside IL

79 points: Sue Fiene, Cedar Lake IN

Congratulations to you all from all the club members at the Feather River Rock Club. Can’t wait to see what you do with next year’s rough! Thank you.

Lori Millard, President and Rock Tumbling Chair, FRLMS Inc.


All rock for the 2023 Tumbling Contest is sold out.

Sorry to those who missed out and good luck to all those who are participating!

Thank you,

Lori Millard


Updated June 19, 2023

Please return your 5 polished stones to:

Lori Millard/Tumbling Contest
2660 Cherokee Road
Oroville CA 95965

I DO NOT need an application form with your stones. 

Please clearly mark your full name on or in the shipping box or envelope that you are using to return your stones.

Thank you again for joining in on the fun!

Previous Worldwide Tumbling Contest Pages


Rock Tumbling Information … learn about using 1,000 grit has the largest library of rock tumbling articles.

Tumble Masters

Rock and Gem Magazine article in March 2015

The history of rock tumbling.

Winning 2023 Tumbled Rock:

1st Place: Steven Smith
1st Place Steven Smith, Orchard Park NY
2nd Place: Jacob Ramsay, Lehi UT
3rd Place: Cody Hefty, Madison WI
Honorable Mention: Steven Smith's dog Pebbles!