2023 Worldwide Tumbling Contest

The stone for the 2023 Tumbling Contest was Petrified Wood from Washington state

Tumbling 2022 1st Place Trophy

Sam Cook’s 1st Place entry

The Feather River Lapidary & Mineral Society, Inc. would like to congratulate the top 3 winners of our tumbling contest:

  • 1st place winner: Steven Smith, Orchard Park, NY
  • 2nd place winner: Jacob Ramsey of Riverton, UT
  • 3rd place winner: Cody Hefty of Madison, WI


 Congratulations to our top three winners this year. We had 4 awesome judges: John, Dawn, Shawna and Daniel. It took them 5 long hours. This was the closest scoring contest we’ve ever had, hands down. That tells you all just how much time and effort you all put in to this year’s contest. We have an awesome rock for the 2024 contest. China Hollow from Idaho. You are going to be amazed with this rock. Thanks for participating and keep an eye on our website for the application and rules to be posted coming soon.

Following are the points scored for the returned stone for the World Wide Tumbling Contest, 2023
Contestants that returned stones scored as follows, by score, in no particular order:

100 points: Steven Smith, Orchard Park NY

99 points: Jacob Ramsey, Riverton UT

98 points: Cody Hefty, Madison WI

97 points: David Cooper, Sacramento CA; Stefan Wawrzynski, Holland NY; Karen Sawyer, Lake Havasu City AZ; Matt Johnson, Hitchcock TX; Sam Cook, Alpena MI; Earl Arnoldson, Salt Lake City UT; Andrew Adair, Johnston IA; Stephen King, Burton MI

95 points: Brent Wandel, Everett WA; Holly Elliott, Green River WY; Matt Nichols, Ida MI

94 points: Jenna Bolton, Cumming GA; Patrick Regan, Farmington NY; Dave Benzschawel, La Crescent MN; Charlie Tower, Casper Wy; Grace Haskin, Hyattsville MD; William Fike, Hanover PA

93 points: Zachary Belknap, Longmont CO; Randy Gault, Woodhaven MI; Jeff Duebler, Tomah WI; Suzann Smith, Clinton MO

92 points: Chris Thomas, Jenkintown PA; Sharon Wallahee, Wapato WA; Geoffrey Niswander and Sally Good, Hillsboro NH; Harinarayan Paramahamson, Cupertino CA; Jeffrey Cleary, Los Angeles CA; Angelee Luther, S. Salt Lake City UT; James A Van Zee, Pella IO.

91 points: Necole Olmstead, Camdenton MO; Chris House, Borger TX; Bob Blouin, O’Fallon MO; Andrea Sarlitto, Valdosta GA

90 points: Shawna Bacheller, Parma ID; Jill Stewart, Eagle ID; Alissa Cheek, St Charles MO; Tony Macejko, Avon OH; Barry Petroske, Breinigsville PA; April Henson, Victorville CA; Denise Mackenzie, Lexington MI

89 points: Vicki Blakslee, Port Angeles WA

88 points: Tiffany Yonts, Aurora CO

87 points: Zachary Carter, Onalaska WA

86 points: Aimee Starks, Coeur d Alene ID; Jamie Forbes, Eldon MO; Mike Bosold, Olympia WA

85 points: Dana Hansen, Ferndale WA

83 points: Juliana Wright, Grand Haven MI

82 points: Sonja Smith, Marietta GA

81 points: Douglas Shank, Tumwater WA

80 points: Adam Richmond, Ingleside IL

79 points: Sue Fiene, Cedar Lake IN

Congratulations to you all from all the club members at the Feather River Rock Club. Can’t wait to see what you do with next year’s rough! Thank you.

Lori Millard, President and Rock Tumbling Chair, FRLMS Inc.